Pony Up!

ponyup

So you have more Champion’s Seals than you reasonably know what to do with? Why not pick up the Argent Pony Bridle to give to your Argent Squire/ Gruntling pet?

At the cheap one-time-only cost of 150 Champion’s Seals, you too can have a pet that lets you access your bank, mail, or a vendor once every four hours, from wherever you are. And if that wasn’t enough, Blizzard threw in an achievement when you apply the bridle – Pony Up!

I think this is probably the single most useful thing that you can purchase with Champion’s Seals. Heirloom gear can also be bought with Conquest Badges after all, and pretty mounts are just cosmetic. But being able to answer your fanmail from the middle of a cave somewhere? Priceless.

pony2

This is the window that comes up when you click on your pet once the pony is enabled. You can see that you have options to access your bank, the mail, or a trader.

The trader will buy your junk and sell you food and reagents (no drinks though, maybe the argent gruntling isn’t old enough to be allowed to carry those). So although only the pet’s owner can access these functions, you could still buy reagents for other people who had forgotten them.

There’s no timer to let you know when the pony will be available again. And for the next four hours after you use this, the top three options in the list will not be available.

pony3Mrs Spinks answers her fanmail from the middle of a cave somewhere…

9 thoughts on “Pony Up!

  1. I’ve been considering getting this and I think you’ve sold me once I get to 150. I have MOLL-E and Jeeves, but having this would be a nice option when those are on cooldown.

    Plus, you’re right, there really isn’t much to get with Champion’s Seals unless one of the weapons is an upgrade for you (not the Heirlooms…the faction-specific epics). I’ll worry about mounts and pets once I’ve drained every ounce of utility out of those Seals that I can.

  2. I love it when they add features to games like this. Useful stuff that isn’t just a vertical upgrade to one of your gear slots. I love games that let you do a lot of random crap that is different and useful–not so much am I a fan of games that are all vertical.

    • I’m with you. What I like about this is that it adds a little extra convenience, and that’s really all. I also like the notion of being able to do something with the non-combat pet rather than just have it follow you around like a mobile decoration.

  3. I hope you don’t mind me using your post to ask for help or commiseration on the Argent Tournament.

    Despite Achieving Exalted Champion of my home city in APRIL, the other cities have never openned up their tournament quests. I kind of took a few months off leveling an alt and just got back to it last week.

    I put in a GM ticket and after waiting FIVE hours got a brief response that they were aware of other reports of this, and that they were troubleshooting, and I would likely NOT get a reply about it.

    “Should I just keep checking to see if the quests are available?” I asked. “Yep”, said my helpful GM.

    Lame. Anybody else having this problem?

  4. I am totally going to save my Champion Seals for this. I just blew tons of gold on getting gear crafted and epic gems, so I decided to pick up tournament quests again. I am almost a Crusader, and have over 70 seals saved up, so that shouldn’t take that long. Woo. :)

  5. The AT tabard is nice also. It is only 100 seals, it lets one teleport to the AT location. It’s very handy for getting back to the AT or to Dalaran if your hearth stone is set to somewhere else.

Leave a Reply

