Thought for the day: Single player games and the internet effect

I’m much more likely to want to buy a single player game when it comes out when I know that a lot of my friends will be chatting about it online. The pressure to be part of that ‘first wave’ is higher than it used to be. Even being three days late on Dragon Age due to later European release dates felt like an absolute age to me. And I’m sure I used to be much more relaxed about waiting 6 months until the game was in the reduced pile.

This is the same reason that a lot of people here download TV shows or films illegally. Not because they can’t afford to buy it, but because they don’t have the option.

When will distributors realise that we want to read, watch, listen, or play these things at the same time as the rest of the world because we TALK to them about it?

7 thoughts on “Thought for the day: Single player games and the internet effect

  1. You violate my sense of pious, christian & cheerful expectation of xmas by reminding me that I won’t have DA:O before xmas eve…^^ ;)

  2. I’m actually waiting for the PS3 release of Dragon Age although it’s proving to be quite difficult :) For some reason it doesn’t come out here until the 20th Nov which is 2 weeks away. No idea why considering the US had simultaneous releases on all platforms.

  3. Haha, I was going so nuts about everyone talking about DA that it was my first real online purchase. It’s delayed in Germany until next week, and I just couldn’t wait any longer.

    On the flip side, I vented about not being able to download from Direct2Drive.com on Twitter and somehow their Twitter pointed me at their UK site. That was kinda cool.

  4. Those 3 days waiting for Dragon Age was a pain, with everyone blogging and tweeting how fun it was. I knew there was a pirated version of the game out there, but I still force myself to wait those 3 days to play.

  5. You’re so right especially in regards to television. It drives me insane that I even have to wait until the next day to watch a TV show. After all, if I have to wait then I’ll have to avoid every single fan site and every friend I know that watches the show otherwise I risk the episode being ruined. This effect is even more powerful when it’s any kind of season finale. I don’t know if there’s any way to figure out the statistic, but I guarantee that season finales are the most pirated of all episodes. MUST SEE NOW!

Leave a Reply

